GPT-5 mini

OpenAI
Model overview

gpt-5-mini

A near-frontier intelligence model for cost-sensitive, low-latency, high-volume workloads.

general LLMreasoningcodingvision-languagechatenterprise access
Representative version

gpt-5-mini

CompanyOpenAI
ReleaseNot disclosed
Release typeModel release
ParametersNot disclosed
ArchitectureNot disclosed
Context400,000 (OpenRouter)
Input modalitiestext / image
Output modalitiestext
Tool use / function callingTool use: Not disclosed; Function calling: Not disclosed
Structured output / reasoningStructured output: Not disclosed; Reasoning: Not disclosed
Vision / audio / videoConfirmed: Vision
Open weights / LicenseNo open weights currently / weight license not disclosed
openai-gpt-5-mini-current · License not applicable
Vendor APIAvailable
All models | OpenAI APIopenai-gpt-5-mini-current · 2026-08-10
OpenRouterOpenRouter listed
PricingOpenRouter · 2026-08-11: $0.25 / $2
input / output, per 1M tokens
BenchmarkNo reliable public source
Public signalsNo reliable public source
Use casesassistant chat / enterprise API / general text tasks / complex reasoning
Claim evidenceRelease event / Model specificationsAll models | OpenAI APIgpt-5-mini · GPT-5 mini · gpt-5-mini
OpenRouter context / capabilities / pricingOpenRouter public models APIopenai/gpt-5-mini · 2026-08-11T06:28:09.895Z
OpenRouter

Pricing / context / availability

OpenRouterOpenRouter listed
OpenRouter listingopenai/gpt-5-mini
Mapped versiongpt-5-mini
openai-gpt-5-mini-current
PricingOpenRouter · 2026-08-11: $0.25 / $2
input / output, per 1M tokens
Context400000
Speed/LatencyNo reliable public source
Snapshot time2026-08-11T06:28:09.895Z
SourceView source
Source-bounded public ranking

OpenRouter weekly token-usage ranking

SourceModel / versionMetricRankValueCheckedLink
OpenRouterOpenAI: GPT-5 Mini
openai-gpt-5-mini-current
Weekly token usage on OpenRouter public rankings API45164,356,088,238 tokens2026-08-11View source

OpenRouter weekly prompt-plus-completion token usage only; this is not a model-quality or whole-market ranking.

Missing public information

Public information not yet available

Parameter scale not disclosedRelease date not disclosedNo reliable benchmark sourceNo public model-card activity countersNo linkable model-specific reviewSpeed/latency not disclosed