Grok 4.5

xAI
Model overview

grok-4.5

SpaceXAI's Grok 4.5 model for coding, agentic tasks, and knowledge work.

general LLMreasoningcodingagentlong contextchatcode generationsoftware engineering agententerprise access
Model risk

Current observations

3current adverse observations
Negative / riskAPI / serviceCost & cachingOfficial · Current risk

Official docs warn that missing conversation cache keys can cause frequent full-input charges

xAI recommends prompt_cache_key or x-grok-conv-id for long conversations; otherwise requests may land on cache-cold servers and incur full input charges.

grok-4.5 | SpaceXAI DocsHigh confidenceObserved 2026-07-08Source as of 2026-07-15
Action

Cost evaluation should include cache-hit rates and compaction strategy for long agent loops.

Open source
Negative / riskProduct experienceUsage limitsCommunity · Watch

A new report says SuperGrok 4.5 hit its weekly allowance after roughly two hours of coding

In a July 14 r/grok thread, one user said a routine JavaScript coding session through Grok CLI reached the SuperGrok 4.5 weekly allowance in roughly two hours. The same reply praised speed but reported needing more prompts and questioned plan transparency. This single public thread concerns the consumer subscription/Grok CLI experience, not xAI API limits or a representative sample.

Grok weekly limitsLow-confidence leadObserved 2026-07-14Source as of 2026-08-04
Action

Validate subscription allowances and prompt counts on real workflows; plan production capacity against a pinned API model and documented API limits.

Open source
Negative / riskProduct experienceQuality regressionCommunity · Watch

A recent user thread reports declining accuracy and writing experience

A recent r/grok post alleges more frequent incorrect information, with replies also reporting weaker writing quality. A single thread is only a lead for validation.

So long Grok. It was fun, then it was awful.Low-confidence leadObserved 2026-07-12Source as of 2026-08-04
Action

Run regression tests on real workloads; do not reject the model from one community thread alone.

Open source
Historical records 1
HistoricalProduct experienceVersion transparencyCommunity · Historical

A July 2 thread questioned model-version transparency in the product UI

The thread alleged a rollback or difficulty confirming the served model, but model self-identification and one user's inference do not establish current routing. No sufficient evidence was found on July 15 to keep it as a current risk, so it is historical.

Grok model version roll-back to 4.20?Low-confidence leadObserved 2026-07-02Source as of 2026-07-15Ended 2026-07-15
Action

For serious evaluations, continue to pin API model IDs and record response metadata.

Open source
Representative version

grok-4.5

CompanyxAI
Release2026-07-08
Release typeModel release
ParametersNot disclosed
ArchitectureNot disclosed
Context500,000
Input modalitiestext / image
Output modalitiestext
Tool use / function callingConfirmed: Tool use, Function calling
Structured output / reasoningConfirmed: Reasoning
Vision / audio / videoConfirmed: Vision; Not shown: Audio, Video
Open weights / LicenseNo open weights currently / weight license not disclosed
xai-grok-4-5-current · License not applicable
Vendor APIAvailable
grok-4.5 | SpaceXAI Docsxai-grok-4-5-current · 2026-07-08
OpenRouterOpenRouter listed
PricingOfficial · 2026-07-08: $2 / $6
OpenRouter · 2026-08-11: $2 / $6
input / output, per 1M tokens
BenchmarkNo reliable public source
Public signalsNo reliable public source
Use casescoding and review / Agentic tasks / Knowledge work / Long-running tool workflows
Claim evidenceRelease event / Model specificationsgrok-4.5 | SpaceXAI Docsgrok-4.5 · 2026-07-08 · Grok 4.5 · grok-4.5
OpenRouter context / capabilities / pricingOpenRouter public models APIx-ai/grok-4.5 · 2026-08-11T06:28:09.895Z
OpenRouter

Pricing / context / availability

OpenRouterOpenRouter listed
OpenRouter listingx-ai/grok-4.5
Mapped versiongrok-4.5
xai-grok-4-5-current
PricingOfficial · 2026-07-08: $2 / $6
OpenRouter · 2026-08-11: $2 / $6
input / output, per 1M tokens
Context500000
Speed/LatencyNo reliable public source
Snapshot time2026-08-11T06:28:09.895Z
SourceView source
Source-bounded public ranking

OpenRouter weekly token-usage ranking

SourceModel / versionMetricRankValueCheckedLink
OpenRouterSpaceXAI: Grok 4.5 0708
xai-grok-4-5-current
Weekly token usage on OpenRouter public rankings API32329,756,363,356 tokens2026-08-11View source

OpenRouter weekly prompt-plus-completion token usage only; this is not a model-quality or whole-market ranking.

Verified limitations

Usage boundaries

  • Official docs recommend a conversation cache key to avoid cache-cold full-input charges.
  • The API was unavailable in the EU at launch.
Missing public information

Public information not yet available

Parameter scale not disclosedNo reliable benchmark sourceNo public model-card activity countersNo linkable model-specific reviewSpeed/latency not disclosed